I learned 3 new skills!

1. magic cast on

2. toe up socks

3. magic loop knitting

First, I learned how to cast on using Knitty’s Magic cast-on for toe-up socks. I did a couple of practice cast ons with some worsted weight acrylic and size 6 circs. Then I kept going with my practice yarn…I started practicing the toe-up magic loop socks. After about 10 minutes of practicing, I was chomping at the bit (hey, working on that stinking garter stitch blanket for a week will make you do all sorts of crazy things…).

So I started Elphine Socks 😀 This is how far I had gotten last night, through one set of repeats in the lace pattern for the instep:

Close up of the toe and the leaf lace on the instep:

(yes, I know the stinking date is off again. I AM getting a new camera this year dangit)

Close up of the sole:

I’m doing this in KnitPicks Memories “Geranium”. It is sooo soft and so easy to work with. I love the way the color are kind of striping, but not really. I can’t wait to put them on my feet 😀

