I’m taking one today. Whoo boy, do I need it!

In less than 2 weeks I will be through with the semester. I take my last final on May 14th …at the buttcrack o’ dawn to boot. I’m finding I just cannot fit another single thing in my brain. It’s full. Overloaded even.

Much like my computer until recently. I’m having memory issues w/ my home computer. It’s not very old, about 2yrs old. And we already added more memory to it soon after we bought it (HP puts Windows XP on the computer then gives you just barely enough memory to run the dang program & nothing else). Lately I’ve been getting the “Low Memory” warning, as well as slow loading of programs/pages, etc. I even got that warning when I tried to defrag that I didn’t have enough memory to defrag! D’oh!! 😆

The last straw was this morning trying to edit some photos from a baby shower I went to last weekend and the computer wouldn’t let me edit or if it did let me edit just a little bit, it wouldn’t let me save it back to the disk as edited. Said something about there wasn’t enough memory on the ‘scratch disk’, whatever the hell that is.

So apparently I have too much shit useful information on my computer. I went through my files, pictures, music, videos, and programs and deleted a BUNCH of stuff I don’t use/need. Like the Windows Office 2003 that came with this computer…you know, the one that lets you use it a whopping 30 days after turning on the computer for the first time after purchase, then requires you to BUY the stupid program to use the files you created with it during those 30 days. Then just sits there taking up 4.1G of space on your hard drive. Yeah, that one. Along with a few others I don’t need on there, like games that I have the disks for, stuff like that.

Restarted my computer and it’s like magic! I’ll defrag it again later (something you should do regularly, especially after adding/removing programs – puts ‘things’ back where they belong so to speak).

Back to my Mental Health Day. I stayed home today rather than slug off to Accounting 101. I recently found out I did not need that class, two days after the last “drop without penalty day”..adding insult to injury. That class along with another class I am finding absolutely no joy in, meteorology. Grrrr!! Needless to say, I’m finding it really hard to motivate myself to complete these courses. I will, it’s just that I’m not going to bend over backwards attempting As or even Bs when I could be spending my limited brain power on the other two courses that I do need and enjoy very much (computer programming and economics).

I stayed home and played Susie Homemaker today. A role I very much enjoy & miss greatly. I didn’t get out of my jammies until almost noon!! Swept & mopped the floors, cleaned the kitchen, scrubbed the stove & microwave, folded laundry. I even BAKED!! Rice Custard, yum:


Recipe
RICE CUSTARD
4 eggs
1/8 tsp. salt
1 cup sugar
1 tsp. vanilla
1 1/2 C cooked rice
1 cup coconut, optional
3 1/2 C milk

Beat eggs and sugar. Stir in rice and remaining ingredients. Pour into casserole dish. Bake at 350 degrees for 1 1/2 hours or until knife comes out clean.

DELICIOUS!!

Knitting content: As soon as I get my pictures all sorted out, I’ll post what I’ve completed so far (5hrs baby sweater w/ LionBrand Homespun – rant included, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles hat) and what I’m working on (mom’s mother’s day socks – #1 almost done) and another felted bag, this one a little bit different. You’ll see. I’ve also taught myself a new technique 😀

I also got my partner for the Sockapalooza Four, so excited! I’ve been window sock shopping. I found out we may have an actual LYS nearby, so hopefully I can talk dh into driving out there tomorrow or Friday. I got an email from the Sockapalooza participant who drew my name **waves**

Knitter’s Treat Exchange update: I have received a LOVELY package from my partner, she has contacted me to let me know there is more to follow (pictures next time, I promise). I also got my treatee’s package out. I can’t wait to hear that she’s received it. I really like this swap stuff!

That’s all for today folks! Back to my Mental Health Day 🙂

If anyone could spare some good luck vibes…the hubster has a job interview RIGHT NOW!

Oh, by the way….anyone know how I can get my WordPress Blogroll to show up on my blog? I see it in my dashboard/admin panel, but I can’t find where to get it to show up on my side panel. I would have thought it would be in the widgets, I could have sworn it used to be there before they changed them recently… Anyone? Bueller? 😆

