This has been a busy week! Dh is still getting into a rhythm with his new job. My youngest son turned 9 on Wednesday, so the beginning of the week was filled with making his birthday cake, wrapping presents, buying groceries, taking cupcakes & juice up to his class, cleaning the house, blah blah blah. The end of the week, I am working. Thursday through Saturday. Yuck.

I have been working away at my sockapalooza socks. Last time I posted, on Monday, I had gotten 1.5 repeats into the pattern (this was after frogging that no less than 2 times). Monday night I got 2 repeats into the pattern and found a mistake I had made. I tried tinking back but got lost in undoing the cables (I am a pro at this now lol). I ended up ripping out the whole thing. Not just that once, but two more times.

I am now convinced that the L&V yarn does indeed hold up quite well to frogging lol. It is just WONDERFUL to work with. I am in love with this yarn. I need to get a second job to pay for my habit now.

Back to the progress. Since Wednesday I have been plugging away at it. I am now past the leg, turned the heel and am working my way down the foot. The pattern is intended for dpns, but I really do prefer working with one circ. With dpns, I am constantly getting ladders, no matter how I tighten, turn, twist, whatever…they still appear. With circs, I do not get them. I did have to switch to dpns to do the heel flap. (and nearly got a ladder on the bottom of the heel in the process!) I promptly switched back to my one circ as soon as I had picked up all the gusset stitches. It’s fitting right in with Project Spectrum’s April/May colors Green, Yellow, Pink too.

It wouldn’t be a blog post by me without progress pictures ๐Ÿ™‚

Here is a closeup of the cable pattern:

And the sock on my foot. Lucky me, my partner has nearly the same size foot as I do ๐Ÿ™‚

And a closeup of the heel. I really like the way this turned out. Even though I had to use dpns to do it lol:

I predict that sock #1 will be done before the weekend is out. There’s lot of knit friendly activities planned for this weekend (around working, of course). Saturday night we are going to the drive in. I will knit on the sock before the sun goes down, then switch to something simplier for knitting in the dark (no lit needles for me). Sunday night is the Coca-Cola 600 so I will be knitting furiously while watching my favorite drivers. I have the entire Monday off and the weather will be perfect for sitting in my backyard knitting while the kids play themselves silly.

I’m also still working on the All Season Shell. I finally got more yarn to finish it up. It’s hard to go back to it while working on the Sockapalooza socks because they are so fun and the A/S/S ๐Ÿ˜† is so boring with it’s k2p2 over & over. I also have my felted bag to finish, got more yarn for that too.

Oh! A really good book, The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini, about a boy growing up in Afghanistan pre-Russia/Taliban invasion, who escapes to America but still can’t escape his past. Very good book. I finished it in 3 days, only reading at bedtime and staying up WAAAY too late to do so.

Now if only there were more hours in the day…..

Got my grades for the semester. Three B’s and one A. I will take it!! I feel kind of bad because the three that I got B’s in, I really did not apply myself as much as I know I could have. With two of them it was hard because I found out mid-semester that I did not even need them. It’s really hard to get motivated to get an A in a class you don’t even need and are paying for for nothing. Blah.

I have three months of FREEDOM until it starts all over again. Do you know how much knitting I can get done in three months ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

