I am on a sock knitting binge. Actually, I’m on a ‘start a new project every 5 minutes’ binge. I’m going to fast, I don’t have time to update my WIPs thingy on the side there.

I’ve started my very first pair of jaywalkers using the Sockpixie yarn I purchased few weeks ago. They are lovely. I love how the striping is so even and neat. Like I planned it that way. Well, at least until I get to where I do the heel flap. Then the stripes get smaller, then on the foot where the stitch count goes from 84 (for the leg) to 76…the stripes get more tiger looking than I’d like. I’m about 5″ into the foot and I think I’m going to (gasp) rip it out back to the bottom of the leg and try a short-row heel instead. I’m thinking that might help keep the striping a little more uniform. I’m not all that fond of heel flaps anyway. Any advice?

I am loving the yarn though. It has a shine that makes it look like it has tencel in it, but it doesn’t. It’s 100% superwash Merino and oh so yummy soft.

I finally made my mom the pair of socks I’ve been promising her for months. I decided on the Thuja pattern from Knitty. They were such a quick and easy knit!! I started the first sock around 3:30 in the afternoon and finished it by 9:30 that night. That’s with lots of starts & stops (remember, I have four kids home on vacation who for some reason feel the need to EAT, several times a day…three dogs who need to go out ever 15.3 seconds or they will DIE…and three cats who think my knitting needles & yarn are on this earth purely to entertain THEM). I started the second sock the next morning and finished it before lunchtime. They are sooo super soft & comfy, even though I used Moda Dea Sassy Stripes (mom’s choice) which is 100% acrylic. The color is “Crayon”. I also managed to make them twins. No small feat considering the striping on different skeins does NOT match up at all even though the dye lots on the label are the same. Found that out when I made “My Socks” a while back.

I also started a pair of Cable Footsies from my “One Skein” book. I’m using Artyarns Supermerino #103. It is so soft, I can’t wait to get them on my feet. I’ll try to forget that it’s July and eleventy billion degrees outside. I started the first one last night (while contemplating frogging the jaywalker) and am already onto the foot part. I’ve been working on another Booga Bag for my niece, who’s birthday is NEXT WEEK (eep!). I’m using Patons SWS in “Natural Geranium”. The girl loves pink! Practicing my continental while doing the boring round & round knitting every row for eternity (it seems).

What else? I’m getting my Sockapalooza Four pal’s package ready for sending off in about 2 weeks. I decided on some stitchmarkers made by me, some soak wash from the Loopy Ewe, maybe a Bee Bar. Of course, I’ll send some yummies. It’s just a matter of deciding. I’m not too keen on sending chocolate to where I have to send it in this heat. Still thinking.

It’s very quiet. I wonder what my children are doing…..

